Have you considered getting into Real Estate?

What is LEED and what does it mean?

LEED stands for Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design. Set up by the U.S. Green Building council, there are 4 levels of LEED certification; certified, silver, gold and platinum.

Platinum is the highest level of Green certification and there happen to be 11 LEED Platinum buildings in the state of Missouri.

As a home is being built, inspections are performed at major milestones in the construction process to ensure that the home is meeting specifications.

LEED has developed a ranking system in order for a home to qualify as a Green home.

They measure based upon 8 criteria;

  1. Indoor environmental quality
  2. Energy efficiency
  3. Water efficiency
  4. Site selection
  5. Site development
  6. Materials selection
  7. Residents’ awareness
  8. Innovation

Did you know…

The electricity generated for a single home in the U.S. puts more carbon dioxide into the air than 2 average vehicles! While we may not all be able to build LEED qualified homes, we can all take small steps that will make a huge difference.

9 ways to make your home more energy efficient

Have more real estate questions?


Posted in: Q&A

Back to: Real Estate Questions

Skip to content